Summer Vacation really rocks!!

Can I just say that? Seriously, it has been so nice being able to do what we want with the days, and not have to worry about going to work. I get the opportunity to spend more time with my girls, spend more time with Stephanie, and spend more time doing the things I want to do. It’s funny, because although I am enjoying the time now, I know that once September comes, I will be ready to go back to school. Even on it’s worst days, school is a driving part of my life. Not only do I feel like I am doing something good, but I am able to enjoy the company of some of the greatest educators around – not to mention that I work with some people who have become my very best friends. By September, I will be ready to have that back in my life on a regular basis.

So what am I up to now? Well, I am working furiously to create products for Polka Dot Plum’s grand opening. It should be coming very very soon. That takes much of my computer time everyday. I also took the time and took a photo editing class from Jessica Sprague called Photo Editing: Good to Great Workflow. Seriously, this may be the best web based class I have ever taken. If by some odd chance you come upon this blog post Jessica (how cool would that be?), I have to tell you that this class changed my whole life as a photographer and a photo editor. Have you ever seen photos on someone’s blog and thought, “How on Earth do they get their pictures to look like that?” I was becoming overwhelmed by this, thinking that for sure I was just a shoddy photographer. Enter Jessica’s class. Today, I took the girls outside just to take their pictures so that I could edit them, lol. Don’t believe my gushing over this class? Check out this before and after, the proof is in the pudding.
Before and After
The picture on the left is straight OOC (Out Of the Camera). The picture on the right is the one that Jessica’s class helped me to create. So thank you, Jessica Sprague…you made me believe I could take photos again. Want to see more??? Ok, here are some of my edited photos…


This is the girls laying in the grass outside our house.


Then I thought, hmm…what about this in Sepia? Yup, Jessica taught me how to do that too!


Kiki, being silly…black and white photos..in the class too!


Ok, I can’t take credit for TAKING this picture, Steph did that when we took the girls to Mystic Aquarium earlier in the week. However, what was a good picture OOC, became what I think is a STUNNING picture…yes, I am modest.

Anyhoo…that’s it for now. Working on all kinds of new stuff…and working with my new CT who you will be meeting very soon!

This entry was posted in Everyday Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Summer Vacation really rocks!!

  1. Did I hear someone mention me? LOL. Your photos are AMAZING. The difference in the first one is simply stunning. It’s clear that you are, indeed, a very good photographer, just lacking the other half of the story. šŸ™‚ Thank you so very much for taking the class, and for your wonderful thoughts about it. Made my day. šŸ™‚ -J

  2. Did I hear someone mention me? LOL. Your photos are AMAZING. The difference in the first one is simply stunning. It’s clear that you are, indeed, a very good photographer, just lacking the other half of the story. šŸ™‚ Thank you so very much for taking the class, and for your wonderful thoughts about it. Made my day. šŸ™‚ -J

  3. Leda says:

    wow, they look great! Any luck with your preschool grad pics?

  4. Leda says:

    wow, they look great! Any luck with your preschool grad pics?

  5. Rachel M says:

    I love all of Jessica's classes — and am about halfway through this photo editing one. When I remember to edit photos before using them in a layout, my edits are so much better now (I actually know what layers to add and what each slider does). Well worth the cost! And LOOK — she found you too!

  6. SirScrapalot says:

    I know! I try to make sure I do it before I put the pictures on the layout, but sometimes I forget too! And I KNOW, I nearly died when Jessica posted here!

Leave a Reply

