Inspiration: What Inspires You?

I have been thinking a lot about inspiration lately. What inspires me? What inspires other people? How can we best channel inspiration into a creative outlet. I seem to get inspired by tons of different things, all different for the different aspects of my life. As a designer lots of things inspire me: a picture, an inspiration board (I ♥ 100 Layer Cake), today I found myself taking pictures in a store of displays because they were inspiring me. Clothes, music, tv…the whole world around me. As a scrapper, I am so often inspired by other scrappers, or my scrap idols, a great picture, a fantastic kit, a memory. As a blogger/business person, I am inspired by other bloggers/business people: Ali Edwards, Jessica Sprague (again, I know…), Bakerella, Cake Wrecks, the ladies at The Daily Digi…my google reader is full of blogs that inspire me to be a better blogger, a better designer, a better scrapper.

As many of you know, I am on a sort of sabbatical right now. I have left MSS, and I am anxiously awaiting the opening of Polka Dot Plum. Paired with my summer vacation, this time off has given me time to really think about what direction I need things to be going in. I am firming up a new plan in my head, and taking this blog in some new directions will be a major part of this new plan. That’s where you come in.

I want to know, what inspires you? What inspires you to create, either layouts or new designs? What inspires you as an artist? If you blog, what inspires you as a blogger? As a member of the larger digital community? I want my blog to inspire you, as well as me. What types of things would you like to see on the blog here? What types of posts would you like to see? Give me your ideas…any of them. The teacher in me is itching to come out and teach and inspire you, the same way so many of you teach and inspire me.

So let me know…what types of things do you want to see? Do you want every Thursday to be “Thoughtful Thursday” where you get quotes and questions to inspire your layouts? Do you want tutorials? To make this extra lucrative for you, I will leave the comments section open until 8am EST Tuesday morning. Once the comments are closed, I will choose a few winners who will win one of my new kits before it even hits the store.

Let’s work together to make this blog an inspiring place for us all!

I look forward to hearing from you!
Aaron

This entry was posted in Everyday Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Inspiration: What Inspires You?

  1. Christine aka: my4boys says:

    Well Aaron…the one thing that inspires me the most is my kids and the things they say so I love the idea of a “Thoughtful Thursday” maybe with a twist every so often. The other thing that inspires me too is nature…we camp a lot so I see all sorts of colors, kinda makes me wish I was a designer but I will leave all that up to you my friend ;o)

  2. Christine aka: my4boys says:

    Well Aaron…the one thing that inspires me the most is my kids and the things they say so I love the idea of a “Thoughtful Thursday” maybe with a twist every so often. The other thing that inspires me too is nature…we camp a lot so I see all sorts of colors, kinda makes me wish I was a designer but I will leave all that up to you my friend ;o)

  3. Amy says:

    I think that Thoughtful Thursday would be wonderful…as for what inspires me…I can’t pinpoint one thing. I love the inspiration boards, like the ones that you have introduced me to. I like looking at the ads in the Sunday paper. The staging for furniture in those ads is amazing. Sometimes it’s the patterns in the wallpaper or the rug, sometimes the furniture itself. Just depends! But I always find something! I have a binder with plastic sleeves just for these ads!

    You are my inspiration these days too…thanks for that!

  4. Amy says:

    I think that Thoughtful Thursday would be wonderful…as for what inspires me…I can’t pinpoint one thing. I love the inspiration boards, like the ones that you have introduced me to. I like looking at the ads in the Sunday paper. The staging for furniture in those ads is amazing. Sometimes it’s the patterns in the wallpaper or the rug, sometimes the furniture itself. Just depends! But I always find something! I have a binder with plastic sleeves just for these ads!

    You are my inspiration these days too…thanks for that!

  5. Inspiration comes to me in so many ways; sometimes its something as simple as color of flowers blooming or every something like a favorite food smell (oddly enough). I’ve often grabbed an idea or 2 from a catalog seeing a swatch of color or seeing a home decor item that I thought I could recreate in psp. Even things my kids do or say can open the windows :). Dreams bring some in too as well sometimes. Of course being a fan of your work, I’m always excited to see what you come up with. I’d love to see more posts on ps tutorials, even the simple things as I am more psp oriented. Just wanted to also wish you the best with the new store 🙂

  6. Inspiration comes to me in so many ways; sometimes its something as simple as color of flowers blooming or every something like a favorite food smell (oddly enough). I’ve often grabbed an idea or 2 from a catalog seeing a swatch of color or seeing a home decor item that I thought I could recreate in psp. Even things my kids do or say can open the windows :). Dreams bring some in too as well sometimes. Of course being a fan of your work, I’m always excited to see what you come up with. I’d love to see more posts on ps tutorials, even the simple things as I am more psp oriented. Just wanted to also wish you the best with the new store 🙂

  7. Mars says:

    What inspires me to create layouts? Hmmm, it depends on my mood actually. Sometimes I get inspired by other scrappers for when I see a very nice layout, I am prompted to click on my mouse and scrap myself. Sometimes, I also get inspired with photos and the million words I could think of to describe them. Sometimes I also get inspired by the people who push me to do good. Blogging wise,I get inspired by current events although I keep away from blogging when I am mad at someone or something because I might say (blog) about things I might regret in the future. so there!

  8. Mars says:

    What inspires me to create layouts? Hmmm, it depends on my mood actually. Sometimes I get inspired by other scrappers for when I see a very nice layout, I am prompted to click on my mouse and scrap myself. Sometimes, I also get inspired with photos and the million words I could think of to describe them. Sometimes I also get inspired by the people who push me to do good. Blogging wise,I get inspired by current events although I keep away from blogging when I am mad at someone or something because I might say (blog) about things I might regret in the future. so there!

Leave a Reply

