9 Secrets for Documenting Your Summer

Happy Summer!  Today is officially the first day of summer..and even better it’s my last day of school!  Talk about luck!  We have a lot of fun plans for the summer, but I always worry about how I will keep up with documenting them, and still have time to actually do things.  If you are anything like me, I am sure you are looking for easy ways to document your summer while still enjoying it.  I did a little research, and I found these awesome secrets!

  1. Tuesday Tutorials : Shimelle Laine : A Journal For Travels Ahead – This post, from Ali’s blog last summer, is all about creating a travel journal prior to your travels.  By doing this, you can add things to it, and create it as you go.  It’s along the same idea as Ali’s December Daily Project, and with both, the idea of “working ahead” is totally what draws me in.
  2. Journal Themes for Summer – This is a pretty comprehensive list of possible prompts for summer journaling.  I always like this idea of having a prompt or plan before I go into my activities, that way I can make a quick list of the pictures I will need.  Then I can take my list to make sure I get those shots.
  3. Scrapbook Your Vacation: Preserve Your Summer Memories – This article gives a nice plan for when you are going on vacation, detailing what to do before you leave, while you are on vacation, and when you get home.  If you are going on a big trip during your vacation, this would be a great place to start.
  4. Summer Photo Ideas by Willette Designs – I saw this link on a post last week, and I will tell you as soon as I downloaded the file, I knew I had to share it further.  You have to provide a little information before you get the link to the PDF with the photo ideas, but it’s well worth it.  When you open the PDF, you’ll find that the 100 ideas are on little slips of paper to print and cut out, so that you can put them in a jar and pick one daily, or however you want.  You could also keep the file together, and it will be just as useful.
  5. Travel Logbook by Log Your Memory – I have long been interested in the Log Your Memory Logbooks, and I was excited to see that there is a travel logbook.  This book has all the things you need to keep track of your activities, photos, and plan your pages…and it fits in a shoulder bag.
  6. Today You Summer Memory Book – Another project from Ali Edwards’ blog, this focuses on creating an overview album of your summer.  It’s also part of her Weekend Creative series, which means that it should be able to be finished in a weekend.  I love the idea of this, and would love to do one for each of my girls, as well as a family one.
  7. Mini Summer Break Album at Better Homes and Gardens – This is a link to a mixed media album you could create quickly and easily to review your summer activities.  Also, the article has a link to another article about capturing great candid shots, and that information is worth it’s weight in gold to me.
  8. 10 Essential Camera Supplies to Pack for Your Summer Vacation – The list is pretty self explanatory, but still useful when you are thinking of the things you will need to have with you on vacation.
  9. Hip Tips: Savor Summer with Kids Travel Journals – This project at Hip Travel Mama is geared towards having your kids keep track of their summer travels, however, what better way to get another perspective on your summer vacation?   Use your kids’ journals to help you flesh out your own projects!

So there are my nine….do you have a 10th?  What are you planning to do to document your summer vacation?  Share your 10th secret with us in the comments!

* Photo Frame and staples by Katie Pertiet, Photo Action by My Four Hens, Font: Little Days Alt

This entry was posted in Scrapping Tips and Techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 9 Secrets for Documenting Your Summer

  1. Kristin Rutten says:

    Thanks for mentioning the Travel Logbook!!! And what a great list … I'm not sure what to add, other than remember to enjoy the journey, not just document it. I for one tend to be so wrapped up in capturing that I forget to participate. So this summer my goal is to relax and try to go with the flow more… 🙂

  2. SirScrapalot says:

    No problem! Your goal is the same goal that I always struggle with…creating the balance between documenting and actually enjoying! It's an ongoing battle.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up with Sir Scrapalot Designs - June 20th to June 26th | Sir Scrapalot Designs

  4. Pingback: { free friday finds } for July 2, 2010 | Simple Scrapper

  5. Irene says:

    Thank you for these helpful hints. I linked to this page from today's scrapbook news in my Examiner.com National Scrapbook Column at http://bit.ly/cm4P75Have a wonderful weekend!

  6. SirScrapalot says:

    Thanks! Have a great weekend as well!

  7. Pingback: When I Grow Up – The Blog » Blog Archive » Client Show & Tell: What Are Your Favorite Summer Memories? / Scrapbook Giveaway & Discount from Tara Sroka!

Leave a Reply

