Scrap Along With Sir Scrapalot: How to Save Layouts for the Web

Recently, I came upon a thread in a forum I visit about people using the “Unsharp Mask” filter before saving their layouts to be published in a gallery.  In short, using the unsharp mask filter helps to revive the sharpness of the layout after you have resized it.  What ended up coming from the thread was the variety of different things people do to save their files for web.  Today, I thought I’d show you my process for saving files for the web.

So, I put together this quick VIDEO tutorial on my workflow for saving layouts. It is my first video tutorial, please be kind!

I would love to hear what your processes are for saving for the web! Do you use the unsharp mask feature? What are your settings? Let’s start talking in the comments below.

This entry was posted in Scrapping Tips and Techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Scrap Along With Sir Scrapalot: How to Save Layouts for the Web

  1. Christy says:

    Great job on your first video! 🙂 Very interesting about sharpening the layouts…I have never even considered it before. After saving way too many layouts in various sizes for print and for web, I created a script that gives different saving options in one step. You can find it (for free) at my blog (http://speedscraps.blogspot.com/p/free-scripts….). It's called File Save 1. I have some updates I want to add to the script in the future – like file size limitations – but may have to include a sharpening option too! 😀 Thanks for the tips! Have a blessed day! Christy

  2. SirScrapalot says:

    Thanks so much! I'll be sure to check it out!

  3. I haven't even heard of the unsharp mask feature. Will have to check that out! Great video, BTW. I'm looking forward to more of those. I pretty much do what you do as well, except I don't save for web unless there are file restrictions to the forum that I'm trying to upload to. I'm curious as to why you would save your pictures at 10 and not 12? Is that because it reduces the file size while still retaining the quality of the picture?

  4. SirScrapalot says:

    That's exactly why…I don't find a lot of difference between 10 and 12, so 10 seems to be good enough.

  5. dreamscrapper says:

    For your first video tutorial, I think you did a fine job! What program did you use to do this?I am and always have been a firm believer in sharpening layouts both for print and for web. When I finish a layout, I actually save the layout three different ways – for an 8 x 8″ print, at 800 pixels for a personal web gallery and at 600 pixels for posting to other scrapping galleries. I have created an action that allows me to save at each of these with a pause to both sharpen (for either print or web) as well as to add a bit of saturation back into the images designed for the web (using Save for Web tends to desaturate a bit). This makes the entire process so much easier and faster!One thing that could help speed up your workflow is that there is no need to change to 72 for the resolution. When posting to the web, the only thing that makes a difference is the actual size in pixels of the image.

  6. SirScrapalot says:

    I used CamStudio to create the tutorial. It was pretty easy to use once I got the hang of it. As for changing the resolution to 72, I guess it's just what I was trained as being “web standard.” It's required of me for both of my stores, and I know that it reduces the file size so that I am able to post in the galleries I post too. Also, the smaller file size reduces the load time on the blog here.

  7. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up with Sir Scrapalot Designs - June 27th to July 11th | Sir Scrapalot Designs

Leave a Reply

