10 Creative Techniques for Titling Your Layouts

What do you think is the most challenging part of creating a layout?  Recently I asked this question to the people on my Facebook Fan Page, and I was surprised by the responses.  An overwhelming number of people commented that adding a title to their layout was the most challenging aspect of creating a layout.  For some, it may be about putting a title together and making it look good, and others seem to have difficulty choosing what the title for their layouts should be.  Today, I want to share with you the 10 ways I choose a title for my layout.  Check out my techniques after the jump…

10 Creative Techniques for Titling Your Layouts

  1. Title the Story – some of the layouts I do tell an actual story.  Often, when I have a layout like this, I’ll come up with a title for the story.  In my layout “Baby Gaga’, I told the story of how my 4yo asked to be called Baby Gaga from now on.  From that story, I chose the title to reflect what happens in the story.
  2. Address the Subject(s) – Often, when I am doing a layout that doesn’t have a story behind it, I’ll take that opportunity to say something to the subject or subjects of the layout.  In my case, this is most often me telling my two daughters something that I feel or think about.  In my layout “Believe in Yourself” I took that statement, and in the journaling expressed to my daughters that that was one thing I wanted them always to remember.  By making the statement “Believe in Yourself” the title, I put more “weight” into the message.
  3. Repetition – Sometimes, the best way to create a title is to repeat something.  It could be a word, a phrase, or even a name.  By creating repetition in the title, you are able to direct the attention to whatever you are repeating.  In the layout “Fireworks, Fireworks, Fireworks!” you’ll notice that by repeating the word fireworks and increasing the size of the lettering each time, I am able to express the anticipation that my daughters felt for the fireworks to begin.
  4. Quotes – Sometimes, when a quote particularly speaks to you, you can use it to create a layout.  In the layout “The Only Flower” I actually started with the quote (thanks to the SSD challenges!), and then picked a picture and kit to go with the quote.  What I am left with is a layout that expresses a personal emotion (remember, I used the quote because it spoke to me) as well as a layout that could work as a piece of art for my home.  Sir Scrapalot Designs
  5. Word Art – Lately, many designers have been including word art in their kits.  This is perfect pre-made title work!  If I am working with a kit that has a piece of word art I especially like, I’ll use that word art for the title of my layout and pick the pictures to go along with it.  In my layout “Sweet As Sugar” I took the word art from Jennifer Barrette’s Fresh Squeezed kit and used it to title the layout I was doing with the kit.  
  6. An Adjective + The Subject’s Name – This is by far the technique I use for titling my layouts the most.  I often take the name of the daughter in the layout, and come up with an adjective that matches their personality and sometimes the layout.  In the layout “Curious Keira” I chose to use the adjective curious to describe my daughter, and coupled it with a picture of her investigating something.  A variation of this technique is to not use the subject’s name, and just use the adjective.  I used that technique in my recent layout about my niece, “Adorable.”  
  7. Song Title – Sometimes the perfect title for my layouts can be found in songs I like.  Usually, I pick a song that matches the story I want to tell in the layout or the feeling I want to express, and I use the title of the song as the title of the page.  Sometimes, if the song is really special to me, I’ll use the lyrics as the journaling.  I did this in my layout “All You Need.”  
  8. Online Inspiration – I find inspiration online all the time for all the projects I am working on.  One site that I especially like for inspirational titles and journaling is the Philosophy website.  Now I know, it’s a beauty product website, but if you read the titles of their products and then the journaling that goes along with it, you’re sure to find some titles and journaling you want to use on your layouts.  I used this technique in the “Amazing Grace” layout.
  9. Different Languages – Now I am not fluent in any language other than English.  I do, however, know enough words in a few different languages that I can use on my layouts.  Often I’ll use the words that mean “love,” as you can see in the layout “Amor.”  Adding a different language for your title can be an unexpected twist in the your layouts.
  10. Events – It’s not often that I do a layout from a specific event.  That’s just not the type of scrapper I am.  However, when I do scrap events, I tend to just use the title of the event as the title of the page.  Pretty straightforward, but it works with the layout I am creating.  I used this technique in my layout “Easter.”  

I hope that these 10 techniques will be helpful to you when you are creating your layouts.  They are part of my “Scrapper’s Toolbox.”  Do you have any special techniques for choosing the title of your layouts?  How do you decide what title will work?  Let us know in the comments below!

Aaron

This entry was posted in Scrapping Tips and Techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 10 Creative Techniques for Titling Your Layouts

  1. Mcscraps4 says:

    Great ideas!! Always looking for new ways to add a title that doesn’t get boring. So glad Paperclipping had you on so I could find you.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Thanks! Glad you are enjoying Paperclipping!

  3. Scrappinaly says:

    Loved this and going to post to my blog if thats ok…great reminders! I need that

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention 10 Creative Techniques for Titling Your Layouts | Sir Scrapalot Designs -- Topsy.com

  5. Irene says:

    Great tips! I linked to your post in today’s daily scrapbook news article at http://exm.nr/aHAO0R 🙂

  6. Anonymous says:

    Great suggestions!

  7. Deanna says:

    What a great collection of ideas! Gotta bookmark this – because this is one of my MAJOR struggles when I scrap! Thanks a TON!

  8. Anonymous says:

    Great suggestions . . . into Evernote they go!

  9. Anonymous says:

    Thanks, hope they come in handy!

  10. Anonymous says:

    Awesome! I love Evernote!

  11. Anonymous says:

    Totally ok my friend! Glad you like it!

  12. Anonymous says:

    Awesome! Love your articles!

  13. Pingback: 9 Surefire Ways to Create Dynamic Title Work | Sir Scrapalot Designs

  14. Dalis says:

    love the ideas… every once in a while I do a LO that is all Spanish to remind me from where I come from. I have been in USA for 13+ years and I have to say that I have started to forget my native tongue.

    — dalis

  15. Cathy says:

    Thanks for your great ideas…. I use a few of these… but as I am mainly an “event” scrapper I usually try to use a title to describe the event… but also not just the obvious ones… something different! I try very hard not to use the same title more than twice.

  16. Anonymous says:

    Dalis – what a great idea to keep it up! I took six years of Spanish…I just wish I remember more of it than I do!

  17. Anonymous says:

    I try not to use the same title twice too!! Sometimes, I do it without even realizing though…I guess I should probably be more aware of what I have already used!

  18. HappyLilGrahamCracker says:

    I’m horrible about titling my layouts. A lot of times, I just don’t. When I do, I try to be pretty straightforward about it… Sometimes if I’m really stuck, or want something catchy, I’ll use a website that gives title suggestions. A few times I’ll use quotes that the person I’m featuring in the layout said… One layout I have yet to scrap is one of my little brother, who woke up one morning and said “I DO look like Justin Bieber… but I look better!” so I’ll probably title it “But I look better.” and journal about what he said.

  19. Pingback: { free friday finds } for August 20, 2010 | Simple Scrapper

Leave a Reply

