The Secret Behind Extracting – Six Tutorials to Get You Moving

Now, I’m the first to admit – I’m not good at extracting.  I don’t like to do it, and I don’t think I’m particularly good at it.  When I read over the responses to my question about what techniques everyone wanted to learn, I was presented with a problem – you all want to know how to extract.  What was I to do?  The answer – we’ll learn how to extract together!!

I’ve put together this list of tutorials on extracting from photos.  Look through them, give some of the techniques a try.

Check these out as starting point.  Hopefully they’ll help you get on your way to extracting subjects for your layouts soon!

Already a master at extracting?  What are your tips?  How do you extract from a photo?  Let us know in the comments below!

Aaron

This entry was posted in Scrapping Tips and Techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Secret Behind Extracting – Six Tutorials to Get You Moving

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Secret Behind Extracting – Six Tutorials to Get You Moving | Sir Scrapalot Designs -- Topsy.com

  2. Taracotta7 says:

    Thank you, Aaron for sharing these tutorials!!!!! I have attempted extracting a couple of times but never happy with the result. I am hoping these tutorials help me find the “missing link” to my extracting. 🙂

    I am really enjoying your new layout of the site and your posts. I look forward to seeing them in my Google Reader each morning! 🙂

  3. Beth says:

    Now maybe I’m missing a tip (maybe I should read the tutorials!), but I finally came to the conclusion that good extractions take time! You just have to invest that time to make them good. Also, I find that the best extractions come when the subject is in front of a non-busy background — sometimes you need the right photo.

    Personally I find that if I have a partial extraction (an arm or leg coming out of a frame, for instance) tends to look better than a full extraction. (And besides, it takes less time! Haha)

  4. Anonymous says:

    ITA…the ultimate key to good extractions is TIME. No better tip than that!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Thanks so much!! I am glad to be able to provide posts like this and engage with all of you this way!

  6. Cardinalskate says:

    Well, after taking one of these tutorials, I’ve found out that I’ve been doing extracting the HARD way since I’ve been scrapping. PSE tools really make things easier if you know how to use them (hhm, who’da thunk?)! Thanks so much for posting these, they were a big help.

    Oh, and BTW, watch out you don’t watch the 2nd tutorial on the list with kids around. He has a bit of a potty mouth! LOL (Drops the f-bomb!)

    New to your site and loving it! You’ve got the right idea here! Not just getting your products out there but helping us all become better scrappers! I’m an immediate fan!

  7. Anonymous says:

    Ooopss…sorry about the second tutorial! Glad you are liking it at the site!

  8. Pingback: { free friday finds } for September 3, 2010 | Simple Scrapper

  9. Hummie says:

    Hey, thanks for the mention! 🙂 Kudos to you! Hummie

  10. Pingback: The Top Ten Blog Posts of 2010 | Sir Scrapalot Designs

  11. Flowerscrap says:

    I love extracting – i’m a perfectionist and I love getting in really close and getting it just right – i generally use the lasso tools in PS along with my good old eraser. Then i zoom in to 200% or more. I use the eraser for long straight shots (while holding down shift – and make sure the brushes spacing is 0 or you will have bumpies-yes that’s the technical term :P) I use the polygon lasso tool for corners and crazy edges that are still angular, and i use the lasso tool (along with my trusty pen and tablet) for other stuff…. 🙂 Clear as mud!?

  12. Anonymous says:

    Hi Aaron,
    A fan of yours here: I am not a star at extraction either so thanks for the useful tutorials!
    Also thank you for sharing tips with us so we become better scrappers. You rock dude! 😉

Leave a Reply

