5 Easy Tools for Managing Your Life

Time management may be the hardest thing I’ve ever done.

As I sit here writing this blog post, I am ignoring the glaring yellow to do list right to my left.  It’s a full legal page long, and I know there are things on there that I *NEED* to be doing, but I just can’t.  It all seems so overwhelming, so out of reach.  Why is it that change can upset so much, so quickly?
I started to think that this was something that had just started happening this year.  However, when I started going back through my archives, I realized that this same time last year was when the “Time Management Series” was born.  I thought, “Perfect!!  I’ll create a post that links back to all these great resources!”  Yeah…except, they’re a year old.  I started going through them, and realized that they were super outdated.  So, this post was born.
Here’s a list of the current tools I am using to try and manage my life.  I emphasize try.

5 Easy Tools for Managing Your Life

  1. Google Calendar – I have fallen in love with Google Calendar.  I love the way it looks, the way it works.  I currently keep a calendar for all the aspects of my life: home/family stuff, Polka Dot Plum stuff, Funky Playground stuff, and upcoming blog posts.  I also love the way that it interacts with all my other Google tools, like Tasks….
  2. Google Tasks – Google Tasks is a To Do list manager, which is directly linked to my Gmail and my Google Calendar.  When I add something to my tasks list, and give it a due date, it’s automatically added to my Google Calendar.  How’s that for awesome?
  3. Hootsuite – Hootsuite is totally invaluable to me.  I love being part of the conversation on Twitter, but my day job always prevents me from being around at the best times.  With Hootsuite, I am able to schedule my popular “Question of the Day” to post in the afternoon when everyone is hanging around Twitter, and then I can come back to it and participate when I get home from school.  How cool is that?  I can start the conversation without even being home!
  4. Evernote – I’ve written about Evernote before, but I am using it a little bit differently now.  Now, I create a note for each project I am working on.  Then I am able to pull all the information I need into that note, like a color swatch, or information from an email.  I use it as a mini project manager, when I can see all I need to know about each of the projects I have going on at one time.
  5. Legal Pads – I live on Legal Pads…I keep one with me at pretty much all times.  They are filled with tons of random stuff…doodles, sketches, to do lists, school plans….anything really.  They are my best way of getting stuff in writing on the run.  Then, when I can sit down again, I can start inputing into my different online tools.
Aaron
This entry was posted in Time Management and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5 Easy Tools for Managing Your Life

  1. HappyLilGrahamCracker says:

    Great list! My take on the legal pads is the journal I carry around… I have one small one next to my bedside for middle-of-the-night stuff (my doctor recommended it to help me with my insomnia), and another one in my purse, which I have on me almost all of the time. My personal favorite is lined with graph lining, so I can keep my writing straight if I’m writing, but also have the freedom to sketch out scrapping sketches, figure out anything else I need to, or make graphs for quick class assignments or something.

    • Anonymous says:

      I would love to carry a journal like that, but there’s no real easy place for a guy to carry something like that..kwim?

Leave a Reply

