Do You Know What You’re Doing February 25th?

I do.  It’s all part of the big plan around here these days.

Two weeks ago, you and I talked about how planning was going to be a big focus of mine this year.  I am happy to say, I’ve hit the ground running, and I think I’ve discovered a secret.  I think I’ve found a way to be on top all the time, and better use my time.  It’s something that’s been under my nose for ages, but I never really thought it would be possible..but it is, and I am going to share it with you today.

Right now, I’m planning a month ahead.  I know, who knew it could have been so easy?  I feel like I’ve seen the light though.  Back when I was taking some time off during the holidays, I spent a little time getting ahead of myself.  I got new things designed, I planned blog posts, I secured new avenues for me to share my thoughts.  By the first week of January, I had posted ALL of my January products for my CT to work with.  That’s right…all month I’ve know what was coming out.  What a change!!  In the past, there have been times when I didn’t know what would be coming out that week until right before release.  It means I’ve had to sit on a few new products (you will go Gaga for the February 4th release), but it’s been totally worth it.  I also outlined most of the blog posts for the month of January.  I’m not going to lie, I didn’t write them all, but I at least had a starting point so that when I had a few minutes, I could expand on it until the post was complete.  It was easy to do, yet I had never done it before.

The rewards are two-fold.  Sure, I’ve had a great month knowing what was going to come out and what was going to happen.  I like order, I like having an idea of what’s going to happen.  It’s also made it easier to deal with the unexpected things that come our way.  I had free time, so I was able to work on Brighter Days Ahead.  Had I been worried about coming up with a New Release, I may not have been able to do it.  Secondly, with the free time I’ve had in January, I’ve actually used to get stuff ready for February!  You may not know what you are doing on February 25th, but I could tell you what is going to be released that day, as well as the blog post that will come the day before (I’m not telling you though!).

So what does this mean for you?  Start looking at your life…what things can you prepare in advance?  Maybe you want to sit and make a meals menu for the whole month…how great would that be?!  Maybe you want to schedule your classes at the gym, or play dates, or weekend plans, or everything for the whole month…that would be pretty amazing.  I know some of you are saying, “Well yah, but what about real life?  I can’t really plan a month out.”  You’re right.  You can’t plan for sure.  Real life is unpredictable, but if you’ve planned even a little bit, dealing with life’s unpredictabilities is a much easier task.  You’ll have less stress, and feel more relaxed knowing at least what should be coming next.  I know I did, and I wanted to share that with you.

Do you think that planning out a whole month could work for you?  What things can you plan out for the whole month?

This entry was posted in Time Management and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Do You Know What You’re Doing February 25th?

  1. Jengerbread88 says:

    I *do* know what I’m doing that day, but it’s because I have an appointment, not because I’m a good planner… You should re-do my schedule for me!

  2. Rebecca says:

    Very great points, Aaron! I really need to get better at this! Planning a week ahead for my menu is something I only recently started. I really need to work on this! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Liz M. says:

    I have to say that I have started doing this too and it is so liberating! I have all my designs done for February and uploaded for my CT members. I do my blog postings a week at a time. And then I’m not stressing on Thursday getting everything ready for release! All I have to do is my newsletter and add in the CT layouts to the blog and I am done.

Leave a Reply

