Scrapbooking Experiment #1: Success?

A few weeks back, I blogged about the three scrapbooking experiments I wanted to try this year.  They weren’t so much goals, but things that I knew I wanted to try.  They were things that I find challenging, and maybe have not done before.  I decided that this weekend was the perfect time to give Experiment #1 a shot.

Scrapbooking Experiment #1: Clean and Simple Scrapbooking

So I figured my best bet for creating a clean and simple scrapbook page was to dig into my template archive, specifically my Janet Phillips templates.  I like her clean, linear style so I knew that I would find a template that would work for what I was trying to achieve.  I decided on using one of the templates from her Collection 29, from when she was still selling at The Daily Digi.

I had a bunch of pictures from a day when the girls were playing restaurant, and I knew I had Kitschy Kitchen by Jennifer Barrette and Sahlin Studio to use, so I gathered my materials and got started.  After a bunch of moving things around and experimenting, this is the layout I ended up with.

After going through the process, these are the things I came up with.

The Pros

  • This layout came together pretty quickly.  I just put the papers and the pictures on the layout and then made the adjustments.  It was very different than my usual process, which involves adding elements in and shadowing over and over.
  • I like the simplicity of the page.  The linear design appeals to me, and I feel like the simplicity keeps the focus on the photos.
  • I was able to keep the simple design, but still use some great patterned papers.  I didn’t want to have to use a bunch of solids in the design.
  • I was able to incorporate a few choice elements that supported the theme.

The Cons

  • I really wanted to layer more.  There is so much great stuff in the kit, that I wanted to include more.  I found myself thinking about tucking stuff behind papers and piling the elements on.  I had to restrain myself from doing this.
  • There isn’t a lot of depth created by this style of layout.  I like to really enhance the dept of my pages, so that they appear realistic.  This layout didn’t give me many opportunities to do that.

I guess, overall, I am happy with the results of the page.  I got a nice looking layout done in a short amount of time, one that keeps the focus on the photos and tells the story I was setting out to tell.  Will I start doing this style scrapbooking all the time?  No.  I don’t think it will fit the “look” I want all the time, however, it’s an option for “branching out.”  I would like to experiment more with this style of scrapbooking, and see if I can make it fit my own style.

Do you do clean and simple scrapbooking?  What techniques and tricks do you use? What advice would you give me to help me do this style of scrapbooking?

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in Scrapping Tips and Techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Scrapbooking Experiment #1: Success?

  1. sharongrey8 says:

    I find clean and simple works best for me when I have a lot of pictures OR a lot of words I want on a page.
    I like a simple design to balance out heavy journaling. And I like a simple design for a big block of pictures with very little journaling or else when I turn the journaling into a simple border around the block of photos.

  2. anna says:

    This is my kind of scrapbooking! I adore your page especially the title and those cute photos!!!

  3. Dalis says:

    I think it is gorgeous, Clean & simple is really subjective… you see my sister rocks C&S in “traditional” scrapbooking… I am a flunky on it… and when I try I love it but it is hard!
    One thing you said about trying to add layers to make it look realistic got my attention. I think your page looks like I can touch it… that is realistic enough for me… LOL!!!! I think I get more impressed with pages like yours here that are C&S but realistic that tons of stuff and realistic. Don’t get me wrong I am one of those scrappers that even after adding the kitchen sink I am still thinking “what am I missing???” LOL!!!

    — dalis

  4. Julie says:

    I think its a fine page, reminds me of a paper scrapped page. I love Janet’s templates as much as I love Cindy Schneider’s templates. I think you can find balance using both kinds. Don’t feel like you can add elements or layers to Janet’s templates either. I used one of her pages recently and love the results. Sure I modified it, but it is still simple in my opinion, I just jazzed it up a bit. You can see it here for an idea. http://www.mousescrappers.com/photos/showphoto.php?photo=11293&title=pooh-27s-playful-spot&cat=all

Leave a Reply

