Spring Cleaning Your Email Subscriptions

Spring Cleaning Your Email SubscriptionsI am a stickler for keeping my email inbox clean.  I’ve written many times about how I keep my inbox empty, and how I organize my email.  Recently, I updated how I was organizing my email and keeping them tagged, but that’s for another post.  Today I want to talk about something that I am always fighting with in my inbox – email subscriptions.  I’m not going to lie…I subscribe to a lot of email lists.  Whether it’s emails with coupons, or designer newsletters, or marketing newsletters…there’s a ton of them that work their way through my inbox each day.  It can get overwhelming.  Here are a few tips I have for cleaning up your email subscriptions.

  • If you are consistently just deleting it, do yourself a favor and unsubscribe from the newsletter.  If you’re not reading it, it’s just extra noise that clutters up your inbox.
  • Set up a folder for them, and filter them directly to the folder.  In gmail, you can set up filters that will automatically label the emails and send them right to the appropriate folder.  By doing this, the emails are bypassing the inbox and you can go in and read them when you have a few minutes.
  • See if you can change your subscription options.  There was one newsletter that I was getting everyday, and it was just overwhelming.  I took a minute, and went in and changed it to a weekly email, and I really haven’t lost anything.
  • If they do make it to your inbox, read them immediately, and take any actions that you need to.  I try to do this every time, I quickly read the email and decide what action I need to take.  If I can do it in less than two minutes, it gets done then and there.  If I can’t I add it to my task list, and move on from the email.

Email subscriptions are great ways to stay in touch and find deals and information about the things you like.  What’s key is making sure you keep them from overpowering your email inbox and making you crazy!

Do you subscribe to email newsletters?  How do you keep the clutter down?  Are you subscribed to the Sir Scrapalot Designs Newsletter?

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in Time Management and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring Cleaning Your Email Subscriptions

  1. Maureen says:

    Great advice. I am quick on the delete button and delete trash more than once a day.  I limit my inbox to 50 because some of them have info that can’t be accessed when I don’t have net access. Now that you say it I think they will go in another special folder. Why didn’t I think of that…LOL

Leave a Reply

