A Day in the Life of Sir Scrapalot

I write a lot about time management, mainly because it’s one of my greatest struggles.  Juggling a young family, a full time career, and Sir Scrapalot Designs is hardly easy, and I am always looking for ways to save time and get things done in a more efficient manner.  Often times, like today, I don’t get to sit down and engage in the internet until early evening, and spend a good amount of time playing catch up.  Ever wonder what my typical day looks like?  Today I’m going to share with you one day out of my crazy life.

  • 5:00 am – Up and on the treadmill.  This is something that I’ve really just started doing again, but it’s getting my day off to a great start.
  • 5:30 am – Showering and getting dressed for the day.
  • 6:00 am –  Breakfast, a quick email check to delete or deal with anything that can be done quickly.  If I’m lucky, I get a chance to scan     my Google Reader and see what’s going on.
  • 6:30 am – Help get everyone else ready to leave, get things together for the day, make coffees for my wife and I.
  • 7:00 am – Departure.  We all load into the car, and head down to drop me off at school.
  • 7:15 am – At school (what a commute!).  I check my mail, and then head to my room to get it set up for the day before my friends arrive.
  • 7:30 am – Morning Meeting in my classroom (actually, this is just my friends gathering to chat and get ready for the day)
  • 8:00 am – School Starts – My first class starts at 8:15, and my second class starts at 9:30.
  • 10:45 am – Prep and planning period.  This is usually for meetings, time to work with my grade level co-teachers, or plan upcoming lessons.
  • 12:00 pm – Lunch.  Another meeting in my room, during which my friends and I all try to talk, eat lunch, and check our phones for messages.
  • 12:20 pm – Third Class begins.  Yup, you read that right.  I have a 20 minute lunch.  It’s not so bad since I have prep and planning right before, but the other teachers truly have 20 minutes to eat.  And that’s on a good day.
  • 1:40 pm – Last class of the day.
  • 2:52 pm – Dismissal.  Otherwise known as “my favorite time of day.”
  • 3:00 pm – Office Hours, Extra Help, and After School.  If it’s a down day, I have a little time to check in on the internet and see what’s going on.
  • 4:30 pm – Leave School.  Run to the grocery store, and return home to get dinner started.
  • 5:15 pm – Dinner.  Discussions about what happened during our days, what we’re looking forward to tomorrow, and general conversation.
  • 5:45 pm – Family Time.  Watching TV Shows, going for a walk, playing Barbies…whatever else the little ladies want me to do.  I also do the things that I’ll need to get done for the morning like ironing and packing my bag.  Occasionally, I get a little time to catch the news or start hopping online.
  • 7:00 pm – Online Time begins.  The girls are usually in bed, and I can get started with the stuff that I need to get done.  Some nights, I am great about this time, and I’m really productive.  Other times, I sit here starting at the same websites, getting absolutely nothing done.
  • 8:00 pm – TV/Online Time.  I have a few shows that I watch religiously, so usually around 8:00 is when I watch them and work, or I leave the computer and just watch TV.
  • 9:00 pm – Back to the computer to wrap up whatever I’ve been working on for the night.  I usually try to get the things that I need to get done the following day together, and do another round of checking in before I head off to bed.
  • 10:00 pm – Bed.  I usually read a little bit before bed, but if I’m really tired, the reading is usually short lived.  After that it’s lights out, and sleep until the next day starts again!

One thing I want to work on is making my night time online time more productive.  In a day, this is usually the only extended time I have online, so I need to make sure I am really making use of it.  While this is important, I also want to make sure I am taking time to do the things I want to do, like watching TV shows, and not spending all my time working.  And so, the battle rages on…maybe one day I’ll learn how to balance my time and get stuff done!

What does your day look like?  Let us know in the comments!

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, Time Management and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Day in the Life of Sir Scrapalot

  1. Bianca says:

    Wow, I wish I was disciplined enough to get up at 5 AM! That’s on my wishlist… a bag of discipline…

    A workday goes like this:
    06.30 AM : alarm clock, I get up between 6.30 and 7 AM
    07.00 AM: get the kids dressed
    07.30 AM: we leave the house for the sitter/work (yes, it’s a rush!)
    08.00 AM: Leonie and I arive at work/school (it’s the same place LOL)
    08.15 AM: school starts!
    11.55 AM: lunch time and time to work on administration
    01.15 PM: school starts again
    03.15 PM: school’s out for the day, Leonie and I stay in my classroom while I do some prep work
    04.00 PM: we leave for the sitter to get Julian
    04.30 PM: home, I cook dinner (Johan comes home between 4.30 and 5)
    05.00 PM: dinner time!
    05.30 PM: family time (watch tv, play, bath time)
    06.30 PM: Julian’s bedtime, Leonie’s bedtime story
    07.30 PM: Leonie’s bedtime!
    08.00 PM: by now I can be almost sure the kids are asleep, and my ‘me-time’ starts. This involves: watching tv, surfing, Google reader, working and scrapping (and… housework if it’s necessary!)
    11.00 PM: bedtime for me (but sometimes it’s more like midnight…)

  2. When do you scrapbook? Is that included in your online time? Just curious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

