An Important Announcement: I’m Retiring

I bet you’re surprised.  It’s kind of weird for me to write it, but to be honest, I’ve thought about writing it for a while now.  I’ve made the decision to retire from designing.  As of April 30th, my designs will no longer be available anywhere.  It’s all going.

You might be wondering why.  Well there are a few reasons, but they all circle around the same idea.  When I looked back on the last year, I saw many successes that excited me.  Over the last year Sir Scrapalot Designs has gained almost 2,000 Facebook Fans.  I’ve been given the opportunity to teach for Masterful Scrapbook Design, guest post at both The Daily Digi and Simple Scrapper, and participate in The Digi Show podcast not once, but three times.  Through Facebook and Twitter, I’ve been able to connect with so many other digi people…some who I never thought I’d know (um..like Katie Pertiet!).  I’ve expanded the blog to include topics that people are interested in like social media, time management, and digi scrapping.  When I looked back at the last year…these were the things that stood out to me as successes.  Notice anything missing?  I did.  It was designing.  The truth is, designing had become one of my least favorite things to do.  At times, I just felt that my heart wasn’t in it anymore.  I needed change.

So change I will.  This marks the end of my design career, but not the end of Sir Scrapalot.  I will still be blogging, scrapping, and even teaching.  Some incredible opportunities have come my way, even since I started telling people of my decision earlier today.  I am so very excited to be able to share with you the things that I’ve got coming up.  Keep your eye out for a new website, and a new Fan Page very soon.

What would a retirement be without a retirement sale?  To say thank you, I’ve set up a pretty sweet retirement sale.  Remember, this is the end of the road for these products.  If you see something you like, grab it before it’s too late.

I could not have made it the past 3+ years without the support, friendship, and loyalty of the entire digi community.  I am grateful everyday that I have “fans” who want to hear what I have to say.  While some things are going to change, Sir Scrapalot will still be here to help every scrapbooker “shop. learn. connect. grow” like always.  I hope that you’ll come along for this new adventure with me.

This entry was posted in Everyday Life. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to An Important Announcement: I’m Retiring

  1. Jamie says:

    Wow, Aaron! I’m kind of surprised to read this! I wish you well in whatever you have up your sleeve for the future!

  2. Jenn White says:

    I’m not surprised at all, you’re a great writer and ready for big things! Good luck, we’ll be watching for you everywhere!

  3. Claudia McDaniel says:

    I think you’re a great designer, but I understand what you mean about not having your heart in it anymore. I’m sure the digi community will miss your designs, but as a paper scrapper, blogger, and consummate scrapbooking student, I look forward to whatever your new future has to offer. Wishing you the best,
    Claudia

  4. Anonymous says:

    I am so sad to see you go Aaron 😦 I enjoy your blog, specially the tutorial parts and of course your designs.
    I’m sure you over-thought this well and I have to say, I understand when I read all you do besides designing. I wish you ALL the best in the future, in everything you are going to do 🙂 Hugs, Suzan

  5. taracotta7 says:

    Total bummer but totally understand. Now I am off to shop! 🙂 Thanks for the sweet sale! 🙂

  6. Rebecca (ReboScraps) says:

    No! But… it’s hard to be sad since you’ve hinted at future opportunities. Can’t wait to hear what’s next, I really like your blog and all your great tips and advice!

  7. Sharon Faulk says:

    No fair! I just got into to digi. And I love your kits!

  8. Carolyn says:

    You know what, I’ve followed you not for your designs (I feel embarrassed to tell you) but for your cool and interesting articles and teachings. You are like another “daily digi” to me. I’m so glad you are still sticking around the community because I do read your articles and all the neat things you find and show to us. I’ll still be a fan. 🙂

  9. HappyScrapGirl says:

    Aaron – wow! This is such a surprise! But I totally admire that you know what you want (and don’t) and are taking the chance to do what you love. Best of luck to you – and I know I’ll continue to follow you 🙂

  10. Lori says:

    Congratulations on your decision! It is never a mistake to follow your heart and to honor your spirit. I wish you all the best!

  11. Sad to see you go as a designer, but excited to keep “following” you in your new career path. Best of luck.

  12. Zippyoh says:

    I will miss your cute designs, but I wish you all the best! Good luck and thanks for all your hard work!

  13. Melissa says:

    I’m excited to see what the future brings! I’ve love hearing you on the Digi Show! 🙂

  14. Chloe Hill says:

    I am glad you haven’t decided to stop blogging. Although I never say much back, I love reading it and seeing your layouts. Good for you following your new adventure and recognizing that a passion is changing. Enjoy every minute!

  15. Adriana says:

    Oh no! I really like your designs and read your blog. I wish you luck in your future endeavors. I must have terrible timing. I just bought your new kit YESTERDAY and paid full price. 😦

  16. emily says:

    good luck to you aaron!! you are a great teacher and i am glad to hear that you will still be doing that in and out of school. i will keep an eye on you!! hugs!!

  17. Anna_aspnes says:

    Sad to hear you’re retiring Aaron, but look forward to seeing what you’re up to next.

  18. michelle says:

    I wish you the best of luck! (btw, you should really link that image to your store) 😉

  19. Claudette says:

    O, well, I am glad you are doing something at least to stay in the digital community! But I will miss your cute designs! Hugs and wishes for the future!

  20. Kellie says:

    Wow. I feel so surprised, but I am way impressed with you for recognizing that and moving forward. It would be too uncomfortable for some people, but it shows a lot of character to be in touch with what gives you true satisfaction and moving towards that. I hope you realize all your dreams!

  21. Julie Rae says:

    Sorry to hear you won’t be designing any longer and yet so happy for you to know you are following that which interests you more. Always grow toward your sunlight! I am looking forward to your new site and insight I am sure you will pass along. Scored several items from your sale–one last spree!

    Best wishes and have fun with it!

Leave a Reply

