Nobody Said It Was Easy….

 

Nobody said it was easy
No one ever said it would be this hard

– “The Scientist” by Coldplay

When I decided to become part of some creative teams, I thought for sure it would be an easy way for me to get some scrapping done and work with some of the designers that I had come to enjoy working with.  I mean, how hard could it really be?  Let me tell you, anytime you ask yourself that question….it’s never good.  Never.  I was totally wrong!  Being part of a creative team is hard work.

Let me say, the designers I work for are great.  They don’t have crazy requirements, or make me do insane things.  In fact, the requirements are quite fair and what I have asked of my own creative teams in the past.  I guess what I didn’t realize was all of the “extra” stuff that went into creating layouts for a designer’s product like posting in multiple galleries, making sure to post on the right day, making sure to link up the products.  Those were all things that I took for granted with my own creative team.  I didn’t realize how much time went into putting stuff together and getting it out there.

If you’ve been reading my blog for a long time, you know that I am nothing if not organized and systematic.  I hate when things are out-of-order, when there isn’t a logical progression in what I do.  I am constantly searching for ways to better improve my system to maximize productivity.  So, being in this position of having all kinds of new challenges ahead of me has kind of sent me into a tail spin.  I am sure that I am not the first person to feel like this, so I thought I would share with you a few things I am doing to get my feet on the ground in my new role as a CT Member.

  1. Research – Luckily, I remembered that a while back my former CT Member and online friend Laura had done a guest post on the blog on her fool-proof method for  uploading to multiple galleries.  I went back and checked out this article to figure out her process and hopefully make sense of my own.
  2. Ask Questions – Isn’t this always the easiest thing to forget to do?  Sometimes, I find myself wanting to figure it out on my own, so I don’t ask questions, and I try to make it through.  It’s time to put pride aside and say, “I don’t know how to do this.  Can you help me?”  If you really don’t want to ask someone, ask Google.  If you search it on Google, you will most likely find your answer.  At this point, I am just asking.  Just ask Laura.
  3. Relax – The world isn’t going to end just because I can’t get my CT activities organized.  When I’m frustrated and overwhelmed, though, this is hard to remember.  I have to keep telling myself to breathe and try some different ways to get it organized.  It’s a process, and eventually I’ll find what works for me.  I hope.

So, I am looking for your help.  If you are on Creative Teams, how do you keep your workflow organized?  What tips would you share with me, a brand new CT member?  Let me know in the comments below, or tell me on Twitter using @SirScrapalot.  I am dying to hear how you guys work this out!

 

This entry was posted in Scrapping Tips and Techniques, Time Management and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nobody Said It Was Easy….

  1. Trina Jones says:

    There is an awesome recent thread at Scrap Orchard about this topic – http://bit.ly/mT7CU6 I chimed in there, but my biggest hint is that Google calendar is your friend for keeping track of deadlines, when to post layouts, etc. Bookmark folders are also your friend (for opening all your CT forums at once so you can check them, and for creating a folder for all your layout links each month so they’re easy to find).

    • Anonymous says:

      Thanks Trina! I am reading through the thread now. I already use both Google Calendar and the Bookmark folders for other projects, so I think integrating them with this stuff will work. Thanks!

  2. I use evernote – http://www.evernote.com/ for keeping track of credits and links, sometimes add dates and stuff to remind myself but usually prefer to just do them as soon as I get them so I don’t forget, couldn’t make a calendar work for me and linkwad (it’s an addon for firefox but you can also use but not edit it in google chrome) – http://www.linkwad.com/download I have 1 wad for each Creative Team containing all the links I need like galleries to upload to, ct forums, flickr, facebook etc. I open the wad I want copy the credits from evernote and paste in each gallery, then copy the links from evernote paste where allowed then copy the sites list from evernote into ct forum, then just work through copying link, pasting in ct forum, closing pages as I go. Really doesn’t take me very long providing I am only uploading one page a time, multiple pages require a bit more time and concentration so prefer to do them as individual pages. Hope that helps. Hugs Crystal xx

Leave a Reply

