Tools I Use on Every Layout

Have you ever noticed that there are some tools you use on every layout?  I hadn’t really thought that much about it, until one day I realized that I was constantly crediting the same tools over and over again when I posted my layouts.  Certain tools have become part of my everyday scrapbooking toolbox.  Today, I thought I’d share the tools I use on every layout with you.

Tools I Use on Every Layout

  • Templates – I’ve talked time and time again about how I use templates in all of my scrapbooking.  It is the truth, I very rarely do a layout without a template, at the very least as a starting point.  My favorite templates are by Cindy Schneider and Sara Gleason.  They are both part of my scrapbooking toolbox.
  • Fonts by Heather Hess – I am a stickler about fonts.  Being a male scrapbooker, I don’t usually like using handwritten fonts that look overly “girly.”  Heather’s fonts are great for my layouts.  Nice, stylized, handwritten fonts that look like I really could have written them.  I also use fonts by Darcy Baldwin, especially Gimme Space by Darcy and Lauren Reid.
  • Photo Actions by My Four Hens – I absolutely adore Sarah’s actions, and I think I’ve written about it a few times here on the blog.  Usually, when I am going to add my picture to my layout, I open the picture in Camera RAW and adjust the white balance.  From there, I open the photo in PS, and run one of Sarah’s actions on the photo.  I love the color and the vintage look of so many of her actions – plus, her Photographer’s Toolbox is an essential tool.
  • Shadow Actions – I’m all for making creating layouts easier for me.  I have found that by using shadow actions, I am saved from using the PS default shadows, but also don’t have to spend a whole lot of time figuring out shadows on my own.  Don’t get me wrong, I still adjust the shadows to fit the layout, but I always start with actions to get things going.  The shadow actions I use are by One Little Bird and Jenn Barrette.  I also am in the middle of Peppermint’s Shadowing Class at Big Picture Scrapbooking.  Totally awesome!

 

So these are the tools that make up my everyday scrapbooking toolbox.  What tools do you use on every layout?  Share with us in the comments below!

This entry was posted in Scrapping Tips and Techniques and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tools I Use on Every Layout

  1. Vicky says:

    I also have bought Jenn Barrette’s shadows but I don’t have a clue how to place them in PSE7.Can you help out?

  2. CityKitty says:

    Thank you!  I can’t wait to check out your designers and links.  : )

  3. Michelle D. says:

    I love My Four Hens actions too.  But I have two boys.  Do you think they are too feminine for boy pics??

Leave a Reply

