How I Use Evernote to Maximize Productivity

About three months ago, I wrote this post about how I had decided to give Evernote a shot at keeping me organized.  I had tried using Evernote before, but hadn’t had much success finding my groove with it.  Always looking for a better way to keep my life organized, I decided to try some new strategies.  I can honestly say, that I have really started to find how I can make Evernote work for me and make me more productive at the same time.

 

So what do I use Evernote for?

  • Managing my Creative Teams – I keep a separate notebook for every team I am on.  In those notebooks, I keep my layout credits and other important information for the team.
  • My Personal Layout Credits – Since I had come up with such a productive system for keeping layout credits for my creative teams, I decided to start using the same system for my own personal layouts.
  • My Books to Read List – I keep a pretty long list of books I want to read over time, so I keep the list in Evernote so that I can access it when I am out shopping or away from my computer.
  • Recipes – If I find a recipe I like online, I send it directly to my Evernote notebook.  Then I can access all of those recipes in one place, as opposed to a variety of bookmarks.  Like with the reading list, it’s also useful when I am out shopping.  I can easily access the recipe to see just what I need.
  • Blogging – I keep many articles about blogging in my Evernote, along with my detailed brainstorming sessions, a rough editorial calendar, and drafts of blog posts for the future.  This way, I always have a way to jot down some ideas if I am on the go.
  • Other Projects I am Working On – Articles on time management, topics for possible ebooks or classes in the future, and other things that I am currently developing.
  • Reference – I keep a reference notebook for those times when I am surfing the web and see an article or website that I want to reference later in my work.  I find this a lot easier than bookmarks because I have everything organized in one place.

I will admit, it wasn’t easy getting started, but once I had a grip on it, I am absolutely in love with my Evernote.  Evernote has given me a way to keep myself organized that syncs up wherever I go – online, on my desktop, on my Android phone.  If I am away from my computer, I can still access my files and work from any computer.  If I am waiting in the doctor’s office, I can access my files on my phone and continue working.  This flexibility is what makes me use Evernote for some of the most important things I work on.

Are you using Evernote?  What are you using it for?

 

This entry was posted in Time Management and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How I Use Evernote to Maximize Productivity

  1. Suzanne says:

    I have had it for awhile, but am just starting to recognize the true potential. 

    I, too, keep a recipe collection on it, all found online.  Great for when I’m at the store and shopping for the ingredients.

    I don’t yet keep a list of all books I want to read, but I do have lists of book series that my mother and I own yet are we are missing books from the series.  Makes shopping at the used bookstore so much easier!

    Just this past week, I have taken pictures of all of my scrapbooking paper sets (I scrap paper & digital), and added them to Evernote with notes of what pictures I want to use with them, and sometimes the journaling, too!  I’m probably going to do something similar with my digital kits, too, but since I have the free version, that will take awhile to get uploaded.

  2. Jewely89 says:

    I am loving Evernote – and it’s all thanks to you!!!! My MAIN one is “Events Coming Up” – I list everything with the date first – and sort by title. That way the next thing is top at my list! Once it’s done, I put a “z” in front of the date, and it drops down to the bottom… that way I can look back and say when I did certain things, and I have one place to check what’s coming up. (really nice when trying to remember dates when scrapbooking an event!)
    And then I have books I want to read (snap a pic at the store), Movies I want to see, sites I want to look at more closely, scrapping ideas, notes for different companies at work (I do payroll and bookkeeping for about 100 companies), a “to-do” list for home & my photography business… yah, I’ve gone Evernote crazy!!!!

  3. Pingback: Weekend Reading for July 29, 2011 | Simple Scrapper

  4. Jen says:

    Aaron – I saw your original post about Evernote 3 months ago – downloaded it straight away and have been struggling on and off to figure out how to best use it – now that I see how you use it – I think I’ve got a system! Thank you for sharing!

  5. Olmanrivah says:

    I keep my car maintenance and car info on Evernote. I also have my car and truck manuals on there.

    my medications and other personal info.

  6. Gretchen says:

    I decided to check out Evernote after reading your article. It is a little hard to get started but after figuring a few things out I really like it. I’m using it for blogging ideas, inspiration, and recipes so far. Right now I’m using the web version that I found through Google Chrome.

  7. Pingback: How I Use Evernote to Maximize Productivity | SirScrapalot « The Amazing iPad

  8. Pingback: Organize your Digital Life with these Websites | Scrappers Workshop

Leave a Reply

