I’ve Gone and Lost It

Since I’ve been sick, something is missing from my life.

Something important, something that I am not sure I know how to exist without.  You see, it seems that in the process of trying to rid myself of this disgusting stomach bug, I have managed to send my mojo on extended hiatus.  I’ve been up and able to get things done for a few days now, but whenever I sit down to work, nothing comes.  I’ve started layouts, and trashed them.  I’ve started blog posts, and deleted the whole thing.  I keep trying to push through and find my mojo, and still nothing.

So what do you do when your mojo is gone?

What do you do when you feel like there is no creativity left?  I am sure that at one point or another, we’ve all faced this problem, and usually more than once.  It’s one of the most frustrating things, especially when you want to be creative, and just can’t.  So what’s the fix?  The problem is, it’s never the same thing.  There’s not one definitive way to bring back your mojo.

Here’s what I’m trying.

Taking a break – I think that part of the problem is that I’m really trying to push myself to get some of these things done.  I need to get better at allowing myself some leeway for life to happen.  Either that, or I need to get back to doing work ahead of time and not living minute to minute.

Exploring other creative outlets – Well, this is what I’m calling it.  What it really means is that I’m hanging around on Pinterest watching all the pins come up.  I’ve also been soaking up Google+ and all the awesome things that people are posting.  I guess some of that is research, right?

Brainstorming – I’ve actually spent a lot of time lately just brainstorming some crazy new ideas.  There are pages and pages of things that will probably never see the light of day, but I’m working on getting some new ideas on the page to draw from.

Just working – Writing this post is actually helping.  I am starting to feel a bit like I might be able to get back into the creative groove here.  Sometimes, it’s important just to do the work, even if you trash it in the end.  The process of getting it done helps in the creative process.

So what do you do to get past losing your mojo?

I hear time and time again from people that they feel mojo-less.  What things do you do what this happens to you?  Any insights you want to share?  Let’s talk in the comments, maybe you’ll help me out of this funk!

This entry was posted in Productivity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’ve Gone and Lost It

  1. Aaron, I start surfing the web aimlessly and looking at other people’s stuff, I usually find something that inspires me, and I sometimes just get away from it all…then when I go back to it I can get the ball rolling.  I have even gone back and looked at old kits and pages and posts and revamped them to get me going…

  2. Suzan says:

    I go do something else like writing, or watch some tv or listen to music…. Specially music will help get my mojo back most of the time 🙂 xxx

  3. Crystal Chavarria says:

    I try to do a something that’s easy for me to do, maybe make a couple pieces of paper. If it inspires me to do more – great! If it doesn’t I just save them in a mix folder where I can use them later for something.  Usually if I can do something that’s not too hard, I feel more confident to do more . . .

  4. Jewely89 says:

    Well, you probably don’t want to hear what I ended up doing – I took a year off. I took pictures, downloaded them to my ‘puter, but didn’t sort, label, tag, buy digi supplies – nothing. And what a mess I went to when I finally felt the “itch” again!!!! Now I’m having fun again!!! During that year, I did facebook, games, listened to books, read books, e-mail, and once in a great while cleaned house! But, I had to wait for my mo-jo to come back. And it took a loooooonnnngggg vacation!!! So, give it a few days at least! You’ve been sick. Make sure you’re totally over that before getting yourself in a tizzy over getting back on the bandwagon!!!

  5. Marjie says:

    Glad to find you from Stacy J’s post… I connected to your writing voice and feel for you on the missing mojo.  For me a challenge helps… not a big one, just something to get you going. Maybe a color or product or technique.  Pick one and make yourself do it.  I tend to think reorganizing helps but it always takes waaaaay longer than it should and really when I happiest?  I’m not organizing, I’m creating.  Good luck with this!

  6. Shellypeters says:

    Read the War of Art by Stephen Pressfield. 

  7. Georgia Whalen says:

    You’ve been sick. Give yourself a break, literally.  My guess is you just need more rest and not try to force yourself into creativity.  I mean we usually say, “creativity flows”, not “push out your creativity”, right?  Hang in there, get a little more rest, get your fluid and nutrition level back, then my guess is your “mojo” will come back as well.

Leave a Reply

