Do You Know What Today Is?

If you are the superstitious type, I bet you do. That’s right, today is Friday the 13th! I’m not usually a superstitious person, but I have to admit that Friday the 13th gives me a bit of the heebie jeebies. Maybe it’s because I’m a teacher, and Friday the 13th always seems to be a bit crazier day than all the others. Maybe it’s because I HATE horror movies, and well Friday the 13th scares the bejesus out of me. Whatever the case may be, Friday the 13th is seriously not great for me.

According to Wikipedia, the fear of Friday the 13th is called friggatriskaidekaphobia. No one is quite sure where the superstition comes from, but it has been around since the 19th century. It’s got lots of connections to today’s world, all of which change depending on who you talk to. Some events are connected to the date’s unlucky nature as well. For example, on Friday September 13th 1996, Tupac Shakur was pronounced dead.

So, in reality, there isn’t much to base the fear on. It won’t stop me from being a little bit more careful driving today, a little more watchful at school, and a little more grateful when I go to bed tonight.

What things are you superstitious about?

This entry was posted in Everyday Life. Bookmark the permalink.