Tricks for Better Journaling: Use Someone Else’s Writing

One of the things I find the hardest about creating layouts is journaling. It’s not that I don’t want to share my stories, or that I don’t have memories that I want to write down. Sometimes, though, I just have a hard time getting what I feel and my memories down on paper. I know there’s no right or wrong way to journal, I just am not always comfortable with it.  I’ve worked hard to get better at journaling, and have learned some tricks along the way. The trick I want to share with you today is simple: use someone else’s writing. There are a few ways to do this.

Have someone do the journaling for you. This is an easy way to get some journaling onto your page, and it brings a different light to your layouts. You can do this by conducting interviews with people, or just asking them to share their ideas about a certain event. In today’s tech savvy world, you can email someone and ask them to share their thoughts, and then copy and page them onto your digital layout. It doesn’t get easier than this.

Use someone else’s writing. I do this one all of the time. Some memories can be easily expressed by using the words of a song, or a quote that means something to you. I like the simplicity of using something like this as the journaling because, while I don’t express in words exactly how I am feeling, I know the feelings and thoughts associated with the song or quote, and I can save my feelings in my head.

Write as someone else. Ok, so this is not technically using someone else’s writing, but sometimes it’s effective to write your journaling pretending you are someone else. Pretend you are the dog, or your daughter, or a casually observer of the situation. By detaching yourself from the event/memory, it will be easier to write about it.

These are three ideas that have proven effective for me in the past. If you struggle to get words on the page like I do, they may work for you as well.

What other strategies do you have for getting your words onto the page? 

This entry was posted in Scrapping Tips and Techniques and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.